Posted in 2017, Growth Mindset, Teaching

Growth Mindset and me…

I’ve been doing a lot of reading over the last few months about the concept of “Growth Mindset” and I’ve been trying, not only to teach my class how to handle it, but also to convert my current thinking towards it, too.

I’ve found a few resources online, but nothing that really helps me incorporate it into my students’ day. It’s a bit frustrating, I’m not going to lie. Pinterest has a ton of little worksheets and I found some journals and workbooks for teenagers that I’m currently working through, myself. OK, honestly, I’ve set the notebooks/workbooks up, but haven’t really done much with them, yet.  If you’re interested, check them out at the links below. They’re both created by The SuperHero Teacher, who I am quickly becoming a huge fan of:

Today, I stumbled on another resource, this time on Youtube! Her name is Stefanie Faye Frank and she is the ONLY person I’ve seen in my search who talks about how to address this with your CLASS in a way that a) they’ll understand and b)be willing to do. This is the first time I’ve actually thought, “ok, I have a plan, then!” when I’ve looked at these resources. I’m going to embed one of her videos here so you can see what I’m talking about. This is just a basic “What is Growth Mindset?” level video that will take about 6 minutes to watch and it’s worth every darned second! Where’s the TedTalk with my new friend Stefanie, I ask you!?!

Seriously. Awesome, right?

I’m going to have to create this for my class from scratch, heaven help me! You’ll see more on this, later!

Until Next Time!

~Tiff

Author:

Teacher, Mother, Wife, Reeve, Fighter, Apprentice, Protege, Writer, Reader, Track Director... I do it all, people!

Leave a Reply

