Posted in Tired of being Tired

Withdrawals…

So, I ran out of Lexapro this weekend and couldn’t get the prescription refilled until I went to the doctor again. That left me with a 4 day drought of my meds. I’m pleased to say that my temper wasn’t a problem until the very end of the 4th day! However, what I didn’t expect, was the withdrawals that resulted in some really weird dizziness for a few days. Googling the effects is enough to make your blood pressure go up, so I don’t recommend that. I went to the Doctor yesterday, though, got my prescription, and got back on my meds last night. Today? ABSOLUTELY ZERO dizziness.

Fantastic. So, now I’m dependent on the Lexapro. I suppose, right now, that’s not necessarily a bad thing. I have issues with depression and stress and the meds do really help me with that. There are a lot of people in this world who would judge me for this, but at this point in my life, I don’t really care much. You see, if I don’t take them, I get wrapped around the axle about everything and I can’t sleep. I cry a ton and I start getting hit with the textbook depression issues (not being good enough, no one liking me enough to give a hoot if I’m around or not… that kind of stuff). Honestly, that stuff doesn’t go away with the Lexapro, so if you’re looking for something to make that shut up, meds aren’t the way to do it. For me, it allows me to let things go. Things still bother me, like the idiot drivers on my way to work every morning. The difference is that I’m not still irritated about those drivers when I leave work in the afternoon. I can let it go. THAT is why I keep that prescription going.

Something else new in my day is a different kind of withdrawal. A friend of mine gave me a writing project a few months ago and I just couldn’t wrap my head around the information he gave me well enough to flesh a story out of it. Oh, it’s not because it was lacking! It’s because there’s just so much depth there! I almost understand how Brandon Sanderson felt picking up the Wheel of Time series and trying to write the next three books keeping all of the details straight when he’s not the one who created them! This is nowhere on that scale, granted, but it’s taken me a bit of reading, rereading, thinking, tweaking, and a burst of inspiration to really get my head working on a story. The good news is that I spent time brainstorming and jotting notes, then transferred those notes into Liquid Story Binder (I like this writing binder program better than anything else), and even started writing on it this evening. There’s still a bunch of thinking and working out to do, but I have a good handle on where this story is starting, now! That makes me feel good!

I’ll be getting the results of the NYC Midnight Flash Fiction Challenge tonight, too. I’m determined not to be up when they get delivered, but I’m more anxious about this than I thought I’d be, at first. Why midnight? You’re killing me, people!

So that’s about all I’ve been up to, today. I’ve done a lot of work in my head the last few days and it seems to be paying off, finally. YAY!

Until next time,

This is me, checking in at 216.1 pounds!

 

 

PS- The Doctor gave me a pat on the back for the weight loss yesterday, too. GO ME!

Author:

Teacher, Mother, Wife, Reeve, Fighter, Apprentice, Protege, Writer, Reader, Track Director... I do it all, people!

Leave a Reply

