Posted in Optimum Health, Tired of being Tired

Optimum Health- Day 21

So, I started this journey three weeks ago tomorrow. In three weeks, I’ve shed almost 20 pounds. It’s crazy to think about. My friends are awesome about cheering me on!

I will admit that I’ve decided there are some things I will not skip in order to shed more weight. This list is pretty small, actually, and I’ve already contemplated how I’m going to adjust for them in the future.

The top of my list of things I will not skip is birthday cake for my family. I only have two kids and a husband. Four slices of cake a year is NOT going to kill me (Hey, I’m going to eat MY cake, too, people!). Even knowing that I’m going to have a birthday party with yet another cake this weekend… I may get a small slice of that one, too. However, when my family is sitting down singing Happy Birthday to my now 5 year old who picked the most decadently chocolate concoction I believe I’ve ever seen as her birthday cake, I am NOT going to not have a slice. It will be a small slice, more like a sliver, but there will be something deeply chocolaty on my plate.

Now, here’s my favorite part of this decision… I didn’t want more than that little sliver. For those of you who don’t know me, 2 years ago, I could’ve eaten that whole cake by myself (it was only a 6″ round). Maybe not in one sitting, but definitely within a few days. Richness doesn’t bother me. There is no such thing as too much chocolate. Too sweet? WHATEVER! However, tonight? I had about half of what the smallest slice at the table looked like and that was all I wanted. Me! The self-diagnosed Choco-HOLIC. I have had withdrawal migraines because I cut chocolate out of my diet for a few days. I’m not even exaggerating! I was fine with that little sliver!

Tomorrow, one of the kids in my class has a birthday. I will not eat one of those cupcakes. I’m good. I don’t need it. I’ve learned to say no to those things already, another point that I am excited about that predates me starting this program.

Remember when I mentioned that I was already planning how I was going to handle this in the future? The first part of my plan is to only eat cake at a birthday party 4 times a year (the ones that belong to my family). Part two of my plan is to adjust what I eat at said parties so that it meets the requirements for my lean and green meal, regardless of when it arrives. We’re doing a cookout this weekend for Tadpole’s birthday. I will NOT eat a burger or a hot dog. I will NOT sit bowls of finger candies around the house for guests. I will have my husband grill a chicken breast for me while he’s working on the burgers. I will make sure I buy fresh veggies and grill them (grilled zucchini? Oh, yum!) along with my chicken. I will not touch the potato chips. I will not swallow a single baked bean or mac and cheese noodle! What’s really interesting here is that, while I’m writing this, I’m not the least bit sad about it! I’m not mourning the lack of mac n’cheese! I am not much of a chip person, anyway, but sometimes those Doritos call me! Not this time!

You see, I’m calling this my second Non-Scale Victory… this goes beyond a scale or a pair of pants. I don’t feel like I’m missing anything but already planning not to touch that stuff. That’s just CRAZY TALK, PEOPLE! This, more than anything else, is the thing I’m most proud of. It’s not that I don’t want it or that I don’t like it. I’m not looking down my nose on anyone about it. I just won’t feel like I’ve missed something for it not being on my plate!

 

So, there you have it! My day of revelations! Go ME!?!

Until next time,

This is me, checking in at 225 pounds!

Author:

Teacher, Mother, Wife, Reeve, Fighter, Apprentice, Protege, Writer, Reader, Track Director... I do it all, people!

Leave a Reply

