Posted in Uncategorized

Digging in the Dirt

There is really nothing I love more than digging in the dirt. Except, that is, when my girls dig in the dirt with me! This morning, I finally got them outside to help me plant the plants that survived from Mother’s Day until now (most of them were dead by the following weekend, btw). So, today, I planted a knock out rose, and the girls planted a snap dragon, a vinca, and a… ok, I have no idea what that little plant was. It had pink flowers, which is why the little one picked it. They helped me plant one of my favorite bulbs, a JUMBO Elephant Ear!

20160610_115142.jpg

I also snuck in planting the purple calla lily one of the kids in my class got me as an end of the year gift! It’s now snug in the dirt shaded in my back yard!

 

On my way from the front yard to the back, I passed the way out of control grape vines that grow on my privacy fence and ran almost face first into this…

 

20160610_111942.jpg

Looks like something out of a horror movie, doesn’t it?

I’ve been doing some research tonight and, with the help of a wonderful friend who is quite handy with plants, I have learned that these are galls caused by the eggs of flies or midges.

You can find out more, here.

So, thank you, Charlotte! You’re a gem! Now I know it’s just nightmare worthy on a basic level, it won’t actually kill me. 🙂

Until next time!

Author:

Teacher, Mother, Wife, Reeve, Fighter, Apprentice, Protege, Writer, Reader, Track Director... I do it all, people!

Leave a Reply

